Koma ou ye jodya? (How are you today?). Bon Ane (Happy New Years! Or literally meaning good year..) So I'm sorry I wasn't able to get out an e-mail out last night, it was kinda a really difficult day. So yeah, other then last night, nothing really too big has been happening here. Elder Kelley and I are getting better at teaching and speaking Creole. We're at the point now that we can understand just about anything in creole, and can carry on any kind of conversation. There was one night we had companionship inventory (where we talk about the good thins and things we need to work on in our companionship) completely in Creole. It was so cool! I'm just trying to work on the accent now, because everybody says I sound spanish when I speak. Dang two years of high-school spanish!
We've been having more and more fun though. Me, Elder Kelley, Elder Harper and Elder Winslow have started doing public prank kinda things in the cafeteria. I guess these 4 sister missionaries sat next to Elders harper and winslow one day, and only talked to elder harper. Elder harper felt so awkward, so we decided we'd make him feel better and all of us would sit next to them and make the most awkward situation as possible. We couldn't find them the next day, so we chose a random group. We all sat down next to them, and started doing Elder Kelley's "Bruffus dance", where you rock your shoulders back and forth and spoon air food into your mouth, in black man fashion. It was so hilarious!
But yeah, like I said, not too much has happened this week (man, my creole is taking over... I almost put "semen sa", meaning this week). The most eventful day was probably yesterday. So on Wednesday, they made an MTC-wide announcement that nobody was to shake hands or hug anymore. One of the elders in our group went and talked to president Hacking, one of the mtc presidents, and was told that there was a huge swine flu outbreak going on. I don't know if this is nation-wide like it was a couple years ago, but it's pretty big in the MTC right now. So yesterday I woke up at 5 in the morning... and discovered that I was blessed with the wonderful trial of swine flu (at least that's what the president said, the doctor wouldn't tell us directly what we had) :). Yep, I was brought to remembrance of my recent eatings, it was fantastic. Elder Kelley tried to tell me that I wasn't sick, but that was obviously wrong. So, I stayed behind with Elder Deweese, who also had it pretty bad, and we rested a bit more in the morning. At about 10, we went to the health clinic, along with about 20 elders and sisters. This sickness was so bad that half of the elders and sisters couldn't sit down, and had to lay on the floor (including me). It was such a sad sight, but it was kinda hilarious. For some reason, my sense of humor kicked up that day, and I was laughing and joking at just about everything, probably to make up for how boring everything was. Like when healthy elders would come into the health clinic, I'd tell them "get thee hence from this unholy place, please! Save thine self!". It was pretty fun. but yeah, apparently this was a big deal. 60 missionaries had called in the night before about throwing up everywhere, and there are only 2 branches out of 56 in the mtc that don't have somebody infected with this. It's crazy! So the doctors gave us Gatorade mix, anti-nausea, anti-diarrheal, and told us to get rest. So, I went back and tried to drink the gatorade mix.. But it came up about an hour later. Family, don't ever get the swine flu.. It's terrible! I don't think i've ever cried from the pressure of vomiting. But on the bright side, I got instant abs. But yeah, the rest of the day consisted of Elder Deweese and I slowly drinking the mix, resting, talking about games, and resting more. It was such a boring day! I want to get back to working! I was just glad that I was able to talk to somebody who also had the sickness. It would have been so hard to go through that by myself. I was glad it was Elder Deweese too. He's a huge nintendo fan, and we were able to talk about games for a long time, it was pretty fun. But today i'm feeling alot better. I don't feel nauseous anymore and no more headache.. the only thing I have to deal with now is the diarrheas and the 2-day ban from class which is terrible. But all is well!
I'm actually really glad I was able to have this trial. It brought me down to remembrance of my Savior, and his atonement for us. At times when I felt like I wanted to die, I remembered that he atoned for all I was feeling, multiplied by everybody else's pains, and I would put my trust in him. It just helped me remember how much we all rely on Christ, and how incomprehensibly amazing his atonement was, and how much we all rely on him. Well family, I've got to get going. I want to hear how you all are doing though! What are your plants if you're not going to move? Is dad going to do stay there for a week at a time thing? cause driving there 2 hours a day would be tough! How was Christmas? What did you all get? I want to see pictures too! Well, I love you all so much. Sorry if my spelling was terrible in this letter, and if thoughts were scattered. I've been in bed for a day and a half. Write me soon! Renmen ou tout anpil! ( Love you all lots!)
No comments:
Post a Comment
Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.